understanding low-pass/high pass filters

Hello,
I am trying to learn electronics and since last Wednesday I am trying to understand simple low pass, high pass etc filters based on capacitor+resistor circuit. I studied some theory behind this, and, in general, I have two pictures in my head:

my imagination of low pass filter;

my imagination of high pass filter;
(images from http://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/filter/filter_2.html)

But when I see some schematics, usually for devices that measure biological signal I see something slightly different which I do not understand. According to images above, high passfilter is made out of a capacitor and resistor connected in a serial, in a way that second leg of a resistor goes to the ground, and its first leg connects with capacitor and goes to Vout. But in some schematics I see that these components are connected in a line, like Vin-C-R-Vout, or even parallel (depending on filter type) but still described as low pass/high pass filters.

Like in this schematics, for example:

from Neuron SpikerBox

or

from http://codinglab.blogspot.com/

I would appreciate if someone could explain it.

A capacitor has an impedance that varies with frequency, so any circuit using them will have
a response that depends on frequency. Unfortunately there are many many filter circuits possible,
both passive and active, so a full explanation is a course on linear systems and filter theory...

In both those circuit snippets there's an opamp in inverting configuration, which acts to multiply a
signal by the ratio of two impedances, something like

Vout = - Vin x (Z_R1 + Z_C1) / (Z_R2 || Z_C2) { where Z_C1 is the impedance of C1, etc }

And to actually make such equations work you have to move to complex numbers - without that
its hard to start explaining the circuit response (well ordinary differential equations would suffice).

The real issue is that impedances do not add like resistances do, impedances are more general and
complex values.