Go Down

Topic: Scoreboard project (Read 6713 times) previous topic - next topic

cdelamo

I am currently in the process of creating a scoreboard, 8 of them to be exact; however, considering I am a bit new to the electronics department (as far as chips and wiring) I came to the forums to get a bit of insight.

I plan on using x4 8" 7 segment LED's for the countdown timer as well as x4 for the count up/down and wanted to get an idea on what kind of boards and chips I should be using in the assembly of the scoreboard

I do have soldering experience so that will not be an issue

Thank you in advance

larryd

Each digit could be made on PCB with series string of LEDs (may want to double up for width), mount them on a backplane board.

Can use these with the Arduino (search web site for how-to).
http://datasheets.maximintegrated.com/en/ds/MAX7219-MAX7221.pdf
No technical PMs.
If you are asked a question, please respond with an answer.
If you are asked for more information, please supply it.
If you need clarification, ask for help.

Nick_Pyner

There is some stuff in the arduino playground on this but I found it a bit of a struggle.

There is some discussion here:

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=179691.0

There is no pretense of an accurate timer, it is just an exercise of the display.

cdelamo

Thank you guys/girls for the quick replies

After a some look through forums, I see that I should be using shift registers for each digit correct (each 7 segment LED) considering they will be multiplexing, making that 8 in total (4 for the clock, 4 for count up/down of each teams points)

Also, what would you recommend as far as resistors for this project? I will be using this/these during the day both indoors and outdoors therefore it needs to be seen with the sun out. I do plan on building it into a box with a tinted plexiglass so that may help with visibility.