Go Down

Topic: Use Processing keypress to control servo speed (Read 10719 times) previous topic - next topic

cabraroja

Hi everybody. Total newbie here. I'm just getting started with Arduino. I know a little bit of Processing.

I'm working on a quick prototype that uses a keypress, actually two keypresses, from Processing to increase and decrease the servo speed while the key is pressed. I tried searching this forum, but I'm afraid I'm missing some of the lingo to put together an effective search.

I found a link but it's for mouse control over the servo. I can't post the link until I submit my first post. I will post again after a response.

Thanks for your help!

andrew0

You should be able to just take the mouse control Processing sketch and replace the references to the mouse x-y coords with your keypress code.

Andrew

anachrocomputer

Remember that you can't directly control servo speed, only position.  So you can only slow down a servo by asking it to move a small amount, then pause very briefly, then move again.. and so on.

cabraroja

Thanks very much.

Here is the mouse control code:

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Learning/SingleServoExample

I tried to run it but it kept giving me an error. Refresh is not a member of Servo, etc. I think that means my Servo library doesn't have the correct files in the Hardware folder. But I followed the instructions pretty carefully. And my knob and Sweep worked fine...Anyone ever have this problem??

cabraroja

Blurg! A classmate just told me its probably because I'm using Arduino 13 and the code is for version 10. I'd rather find different code than switch software. Let's see what I find...

mem

Mar 10, 2009, 08:43 am Last Edit: Mar 10, 2009, 08:45 am by mem Reason: 1
this should work with the servo library in 0013:

Code: [Select]
#include <Servo.h>

Servo servo1; Servo servo2;

void setup() {
 servo1.attach(9);  
 servo2.attach(10);

Serial.begin(19200);
 Serial.println("Ready");
}

void loop() {