Go Down

Topic: Audio beat detect. with Diodes or Transistors? How to avoid HPF? (Read 3630 times) previous topic - next topic

alanMcFire

Hey everyone,

I have quite a few questions related to my project. I work as a DJ and just started with Arduino, and what I want to do is to be able to read the audio signal to sync some LEDs to the music (hopefully the bass kick), among other things.

I've read a lot of tutorials, including one that uses an Op-Amp to power the low level signal and then a DC Offset to create a readable range for the Arduino analogs, but I'm afraid that having a capacitor in series creates a high-pass filter, reducing the frequency that I actually want to read. Link to said tutorial: http://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-Audio-Input

Is there another way to do this?
What if I simply hook a Diode to protect the analog input from negative audio signal?
Or use a transistor to control the amount of electricity it could flow from the 5V source to an input?
(there are so many transistors that I'm naively hoping one could work with low level audio signals to its base pin).
If not, how could I avoid the High-Pass Filter or improve the kick detection?