Go Down

Topic: [Solved] I2C reading more than 1 byte  (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Rhydm

May 28, 2018, 10:40 pm Last Edit: May 30, 2018, 03:50 pm by Rhydm
Hello.

I'm pretty new to I2C and arduino in general. Mainly using guides, but I've not managed to find a solution this time.

I'm trying to read 2 bytes of data being sent via I2C. The master is a USB to I2C programmer - https://www.telos.info/p/hw/conniimm20/

Since the intended I2C slave is a OTP memory LED driver I'd like to use my arduino nano as a "dummy" to see all the data is being sent correctly before I ruin the LED driver.

The programmer is using an Intel HEX file as a source, example:

:0200E10001AA72 (01 AA are the 2 data bytes)
:0200E200ACA8C8 (AC A8 are data, : 02 00E2 00 ACA8 C8)
:0200E800001CFA
:0200EB000054BF
and many many more :)

My code - using a simple example for I2C slave but I only get the 1st byte to the serial monitor (01 or AC for example). The address and type in the HEX file is of no concern for me atm as I'd only like to see if the programmer sends all the rows and both bytes.

Code: [Select]
#include <Wire.h>

void setup() {
  Wire.begin(0x50);                // join i2c bus with address 0x50
  Wire.onReceive(receiveEvent); // register event
  Serial.begin(9600);           // start serial for output
}

void loop() {
  //delay(100);
}

// function that executes whenever data is received from master
// this function is registered as an event, see setup()
void receiveEvent() {

byte c = Wire.read(); // receive byte as a character
    Serial.println(c, HEX);         // print the character

}

I'm on a pretty tight schedule atm so I've not been able to explore the Wire.h library and what it offers. Just searched google for a while but with no luck getting a straight forward answer. I hope I've described what I want well enough.

I'd appreciate any solutions or suggestions for my problem.

GolamMostafa