Go Down

Topic: Need help with code for a robot (Read 2621 times) previous topic - next topic

kaiserking

Dec 10, 2013, 04:48 pm Last Edit: Dec 10, 2013, 04:52 pm by kaiserking Reason: 1
Hello there, I am a newbie for adruino programming. I am attempting to do a simple robot that has an arm that moves from 0 to 180 degrees.with an Arduino UNO. The thing is that I want to add an on/off switch for the robot. The button I have is a simple push button (like the one in the reset button). My code doesn't seem to work as the robot only moves a few angles with just one press of the button and stops instead of running the program until I press the button again. Could anyone help me please? Here is my code, thank you.
Code: [Select]
#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo
int pos = 0;    // variable to store the servo position
const int buttonPin = 2;     // the number of the pushbutton pin
// variables will change:
int buttonState;         // variable for reading the pushbutton status
boolean check = 0; //while check is 1 the robot arm should move, determines the on/off

void setup()
{
myservo.attach(9);  // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object
}

void loop()
{
 // read the state of the pushbutton value:
 buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);
 if (buttonState == HIGH)
 {
 check= !check;
 buttonState = 0;
 }  

if (check == 1)
 {    
       for(pos = 0; pos < 180; pos+= 1)  // goes from 0 degrees to 180 degrees
       {                                  
         myservo.write(pos);              // tell servo to go to position in variable 'pos'
         delay(10);                       // waits 15ms for the servo to reach the position
       }
       for(pos = 180; pos>=1; pos-=1)     // goes from 180 degrees to 0 degrees
       {                                
        myservo.write(pos);              // tell servo to go to position in variable 'pos'