Go Down

Topic: MPU6050 Calibration  (Read 2058 times) previous topic - next topic

Hitesh_KHD

Nov 30, 2017, 07:56 pm Last Edit: Nov 30, 2017, 08:01 pm by Hitesh_KHD
Hello People!

I am completely new to this world of IOT, I am working on my very first project where I have used an MPU6050 Powered with Arduino uno to detect change in motion of an object and also the angle of change in orientation

I have Couple of questions regarding the same

1 : The angle that Gyro sensor gives when MPU6050 is rotated, is with respect to what?

2: What basically are offsets and how do I determine offset for my MPU6050

P:s I know this might seem silly Questions, But as I said earlier, I don't have much knowledge regarding this stuff!

MrMark

1) The gyro sensor measures angular rate around each Cartesian axis.

2) Without more context, I'm not clear as to which offset you are referring.

Have you looked at the Datasheet and register descriptions for the device (bottom of linked page)?

jremington

Hitesh_KHD

I'm sorry, I wanted to delete the duplicate pose but wasn't successful!

MartinL

Dec 02, 2017, 10:16 am Last Edit: Dec 02, 2017, 10:30 am by MartinL
Hi Hitesh_KHD,

A good place to start understanding the MPU6050 is here: http://www.geekmomprojects.com/gyroscopes-and-accelerometers-on-a-chip/.

This article describes how use a simple complementary filter to fuse the gyroscope and accelerometer data to obtain Euler angles for pitch and roll.

The gyroscope measures rotational speed in say degrees/s or radians/s, this can be integrated to obtain the angle again in degrees or radians, however like you mention it has no reference point and additionally, like all gyroscopes, drifts to a greater or lesser extent over time.