Go Down

Topic: Help with running Arduino sketch not built for a Arduino Due (Read 6772 times) previous topic - next topic

mrdude

Hi guys I am very new to Arduino - infact I am an Arduino virgin - lol.

I have got a Udoo quad board which contains a built in Arduino Due, I have tested the blink project and it works great - so I know my pc can send a sketch to the board and it works fine.

I downloaded the following project - sketch and get an error when trying to send it to the arduino, The sketch is here:

https://github.com/zoobab/tjtag-arduino/blob/master/tjtag3-0-1_JTMOD/arduino/arduiggler.pde

I get the following error:

arduiggler.pde: In function 'void loop()':
arduiggler.pde:92: error: 'PORTD' was not declared in this scope

How can I make this work on the Arduino Due, without getting the errors? Thanks.

graynomad

Dec 28, 2013, 06:25 am Last Edit: Dec 28, 2013, 06:33 am by Graynomad Reason: 1
PORTD is an AVR-specific macro. I would say it's not possible to use that code without re-writing all the AVR-specific parts. If you are lucky that will only be a few lines. Either that or get onto the person who wrote the code and see if they plan to upgrade it.

This in IMO is big problem that will only get bigger as the number of variants grows.

EDIT: OK I've just looked at the code, it seems that the only problem is this line

Code: [Select]
          // Set output pins to requested values.
                PORTD = (unsigned char)( (byte & B00011111) << 2 );

As long as speed is not a real concern that could be replaced with 8 digitalWrite() calls to pins 0-7.

Oh, and there is another possible gotcha, the assignment to PORTD sets all 8 bits at the same time, 8x digitalWrite() does not. What does this code do? It appears to be testing a JTAG cable or something so this might be an issue.

______
Rob
Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

EliteEng

As Graynomad said this code is AVR specific and will need to be changed.

This could be very easy  to change