Problem with generation of TTL Pulses with defined length using timers

I'm new to microcontroller programming and to arduino, so please excuse me if I'm asking obvious things.

I'm trying to generate a TLL pulse with a predefined length after the ADC has detected the defined threshold. So far succeeded to detect the threshold (I used this post as an example Example of driving ADC and DAC from timer for regular sampling - Arduino Due - Arduino Forum).
For my application it is important to minimize the jitter between the detection of the threshold and the generation of the pulse. So I can't use arduionos functions.

My idea was to use a second timer to define the length of the pulse. In the datasheet I've found that I can restart the timer after a number of counts defined in the TC_RC register, which should raise a flag in the TC_SRx in the CPCS byte.
So I definde the value of RC to correspond to a 75 ms long pulse but the CPCS bit appears to never be set. The code compiles and I don't get any errors.
I've inserted the whole code here:

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin (115200) ; // was for debugging
  adc_setup () ;         // setup ADC

pmc_enable_periph_clk (TC_INTERFACE_ID + 0*3+0) ;  // clock the TC0 channel 0 (timer for the adc)
  pmc_enable_periph_clk (TC_INTERFACE_ID + 0*3+1) ;  // clock the TC0 channel 1 (timer for the pulse length)

TcChannel * t = &(TC0->TC_CHANNEL)[0] ;    // pointer to TC0 registers for its channel 0
  t->TC_CCR = TC_CCR_CLKDIS |TC_CCR_CLKEN;  // disable internal clocking while setup regs
  t->TC_IDR = 0xFFFFFFFF ;     // disable interrupts
  t->TC_SR ;                   // read int status reg to clear pending
  t->TC_CMR = TC_CMR_TCCLKS_TIMER_CLOCK1 |   // use TCLK1 (prescale by 2, = 42MHz)
              TC_CMR_WAVE |                  // waveform mode
              TC_CMR_WAVSEL_UP_RC |          // count-up PWM using RC as threshold
              TC_CMR_EEVT_XC0 |     // Set external events from XC0 (this setup TIOB as output)