Go Down

Topic: PWM -> Line Out (Read 2498 times) previous topic - next topic

bnzlovesyou

hi,

i am new to audio and all this stuff.

I built a sample player using PWM audio output and added some buttons to trigger the samples.

Now, the quality of the output signal is not good  - as expected and i would like to add a proper line signal.
Whats the best way to go for it?

(I am a bit confused about all the different techniques - DDS, PWM, DAC, ....)

Pls. point me in the right direction.
Thank you in advance.

jremington

Jan 25, 2014, 05:25 pm Last Edit: Jan 25, 2014, 05:27 pm by jremington Reason: 1
If you use high frequency PWM and some filtering, you should be able to get fairly good audio quality. There are lots of ideas on audio at the ELM-Chan site here: http://elm-chan.org/he_a_e.html

bnzlovesyou

Thank you.
There are a bunch of interesting projects and i learned a lot.

So thats where i am:

I have a PWM output on PIN11, as you can see on the picture.
But i would like to add an amp + filters.

May be an optocoupler, if it makes sense?
Can anybody help me build a circuit that would fit?

CrossRoads

Amp to get what signal level? Line level is around +/-1V.
PWM output is 0-5V.
Start with a resistor divider to bring the level down to 0-2V, then pass it thru a 1uF cap to get it to a 0V +/- 1V level into your current receiver of the signal.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

CrossRoads

Jan 28, 2014, 09:50 pm Last Edit: Jan 28, 2014, 09:51 pm by CrossRoads Reason: 1
Search for "piano tones micros" that I posted, I think in reply #4 I have a schematic showing that.
Youtube video posted in that topic also.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

DVDdoug