Go Down

Topic: Proposed collaboration (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

twelch

I am very new to Arduino, and my past experience with micro-controllers dates back to highschool when we built robot cars using handyboards. I had been introduced to Arduino a while back by a colleague and when a project finally arose that made sense I dove in headfirst. In just a few short weeks I went from making an LED blink to building a standalone RGB LED controller. I worked out the code, learned the hardware, learned to etch my own PCB, the whole nine yards. I am certain that my story is not unique in any way, as my current issue is all over every forum I can find. Now before anyone wants to say "look at this thread" or "read this article", I have. The problem (at least for me) is that there are so many different ways to do what I want to do it is making my head spin.

I am planning, and hoping at least a few people on the forum will help, to build a device that can be easily replicated and used by even the newbie-est of newbs. The device will use an Arduino to read the content of one ATmega 328P and write it to another.
In my mind there would be a shield placed atop an Arduino, on the shield there would be a ZIF socket,two buttons, and some sort of memory (EEPROM perhaps). When the read button is pressed the entire contents of the Chip in the socket will be read and stored in the onboard memory, the sorce chip is removed and the target chip is placed in, press the write button and the content of the onboard memory are written to the new chip. The source chip can the be replicated repeatedly as long as the "read" button is not pressed again.