Go Down

Topic: [SOLVED]Yun + Solar w/12v Battery (Read 8714 times) previous topic - next topic

theDuke540

Mar 09, 2014, 10:49 pm Last Edit: Mar 20, 2014, 09:28 pm by theDuke540 Reason: 1
  I've been messing around with the yun for around a month now so I'm by no means an expert with it. However, my current project requires solar power since the yun will be in a remote area. I have an ASC solar voltage regulator which takes ~14v from my Aleko solar panel and charges a 36Ah battery.  From the battery I have a 5v Buck converter I got from adafruit that feeds 5v to an Arduino. The catch is, when I connect the 5v to my Vin pin, nothing happens. I've got a good ground and I've verified the voltage from the converter. Is there something I'm missing? Also I've verified this issue on another yun and same results. Any help is greatly appreciated.

theDuke540

So I've taken pictures in hopes that ANYONE will be able to steer me in the right direction with this. I'm at my wits end because I can't understand why this won't work.

This is the wiring on the breadboard: the red on left is 12VIN, middle is ground from battery and to arduino, and the red wire on right is 5Vout. For the Yun, the 5Vout from regulator is going to VIN pin and ground is to ground.

This is the 5Vout from the regulator:

As usual, any help is greatly appreciated. Also, both Yuns I have work fine with microUSB input power.

bjarne

Have you verified that you get 4.6V or more on the 5V (out) pin?

It is hard to make out the actual connection to the Yun on your picture, but I assume you have triple-checked  :)

bjarne

And how do you know that it does not work, what are the symptoms?

You don't by any chance have the old 'while(serial)' in your setup() ?

theDuke540

Have you verified that you get 4.6V or more on the 5V (out) pin?

It is hard to make out the actual connection to the Yun on your picture, but I assume you have triple-checked  :)