Go Down

Topic: Confused newbie question about servo vs. stepper for rotating an object 180° (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

rince

Hi,
I am just a beginner in the fantastic world of the arduino and also in anything electronics. I am planning a project which requires me to rotate a 3kg mass 180 degrees. Basically it is a rail with a weight fastened to it, which has to to rotate 180 degrees to the right and back. The whole process has to be smooth and must roughly take 2 seconds of continous motion and end in the same position it started.
There are DC motors which would be slow enough, but as far as I understand you can not stop the motor after 180 degrees and move back to 0 degrees. All servos I found were much to fast. So would the solution to my problem be to use a stepper ? Will a stepper handle this realtively high weight? Last but not least, how can I actually connect two steppers to an arduino?

Sorry for those beginner questions.

Kindest regards
Dennis

Robin2

A servo is very much easier to use so I suggest you try to make that work. It's probably also cheaper.

It is a common feature of Arduino code to make a servo move slowly by getting it to move (say) 1 degree at a time with a suitable interval between the movements.

If you don't already have a servo I suggest that you buy a cheap one and experiment.

...R
Two or three hours spent thinking and reading documentation solves most programming problems.

rince

Thank you for your advice! I have a small servo from the starter kit, so I will try and see if I can make it work.
Thanks!

MarkT

Its not clear from your posting whether the 3kg mass is on-axis or off-axis - if its
off-axis you may need a large amount of torque to handle it, which will strongly
affect your choice of motion system.

Can you elaborate on the mechanical configuration?
[ I will NOT respond to personal messages, I WILL delete them, use the forum please ]

rince

Hi Mark,