Go Down

Topic: N moffet clarification (Read 2139 times) previous topic - next topic

Skooks

Hi everyone, I'm a mechanic just starting out in electronics and done a fair bit of reading so far on n misfit transistors but just after clarification on something. My first decent project is to intergrate Arduino into a 48 v golf buggy. The buggy gets up to 60 v when charging (dc) so by using a logic mosfet rated at 60 v and 30 amp is maximum values and will happily work anywhere between those values ? Ie: 48 vdc and 10 amp
It's basically in a Crude sense same result as car relays ? Small voltage in to switch larger voltage supply out, is that correct ?

CrossRoads

What are you trying to do?
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

Skooks

At this stage I was thinking about some sort of rfid ignition key bypass. I work on a tropical island that has multiple golf carts each have a unique key and no master key for the ignition so each time one breaks down as the only mechanic on island  I have to travel back to my workshop and get the spare key if they haven't left the key in it. So I'm thinking just cause I can.... For something to learn ill make a rfid or similar circuit to bypass the ignition which without testing yet is likely to only be 48 v and maybe 5 amp or less, but still learning how to incorporate Arduino into higher voltage applications

CrossRoads

So you need to connect the ignition to Gnd to get it started? That's pretty straightforward.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

Skooks