Go Down

Topic: Using Arduino Uno Stepper Motor Shield with two stepper motors and RFID reader (Read 6993 times) previous topic - next topic

CaptainChainsaw

Hi,

I'm new to Arduino, in fact this is my very first project.  I thought I would do something useful and relatively simple.  What I am trying to achieve is to use two stepper motors to rotate 180 degrees so that it will pull/push two door locks.  When I looked in to the idea it seemed complex to operate two stepper motors so I tried to keep it simple and buy a motor shield.  I decided on this one:

Stepper Motor Shield that I'm using:
http://altelectronics.co.uk/shop/arduino/arduino-stepper-motor-shield/prod_84.html

Stepper Motor Shield Datasheet:
http://altelectronics.co.uk/shop/images/uploads/datasheets/Arduino_Stepper_motor_shield_datasheet_v1.0.pdf

Shield Schematics:
http://altelectronics.co.uk/shop/images/uploads/schematics/Arduino%20_%20L6470_shield.pdf

Shield Example software:
http://altelectronics.co.uk/shop/images/uploads/software/dSPIN_example_v2.0.zip

This shield will operate two stepper motors (other shields I've come across only control one stepper motor).

Type of stepper motor I'm using:
http://www.hobbytronics.co.uk/motor-control/stepper-motors/stepper-motor

I want to trigger the motors using an RFID reader (RFID-RC522 Funduino).  Using the example code for the stepper motors I can get them to run so I know that code works.  Also I can get the RFID code to run too.  The problem is when I try to attach the RFID reader to the motor shield nothing works.  Obviously the code would need modified to operate both of these, I did try this, but I couldn't get it to work.  I think there's something more fundamentally wrong with what I'm doing.  I have a feeling that I'll need to use different Arduino pins to attach the RFID reader I just don't know how to figure this out.