Go Down

Topic: [Troubleshooting] Infrared interference with 38KHz IR sensor (Read 6195 times) previous topic - next topic

TomS240

Mar 23, 2014, 05:14 pm Last Edit: Mar 23, 2014, 05:17 pm by TomS240 Reason: 1
Hi! It's my first time posting on the forums, I'm sorry if this is in the wrong place.
Any help would be much appreciated :)

What I'm trying to do
I'm trying to detect a break in an infrared beam. For that I have a 38KHz IR sensor (right), and a simple IR LED (left).
I have both components set up on a breadboard, directly facing each other.

Schematic
This is actually the first time I'm trying to draw one of these.

The Code
I'm using the IRremote Library to modulate(?) the IR LED at 38KHz on digital pin 3.
Code: [Select]

#include <IRremote.h>

int RECV_PIN = 8;
IRsend irsend;

void setup()
{
 Serial.begin(9600);
 pinMode(RECV_PIN, INPUT);
 irsend.enableIROut(38); //38KHz
 irsend.mark(0); //Send
}

void loop()
{
 Serial.println((int)digitalRead(RECV_PIN));
}

The Problem
If I face both components at a small distance (5cm) everything works OK. I get a reading of 0 when light is detected, and 1 when I block the LED.
When I increase the distance (15cm+) I stop getting readings, as somewhat expected.

The problem is: the IR sensor I'm using is capable of detecting my TV remote from far grater distances (3m+) with no problem whatsoever. This made me think my IR LED isn't strong enough.
I then tried to detect my TV remote while leaving the IR LED on, at a distance of 15cm-20cm (because why not).
With this setup I did not detect the IR LED (as expected) but the sensor would only detect the TV Remote at very close distances (5cm - 10cm).

So this is where I'm at: the IR LED is strong enough to somehow interfere with other sources (TV Remote), while not being detected by the sensor.
If it's interfering, why Isn't the sensor picking the signal up? Am I doing something wrong here?

Thanks in advance! :)

knut_ny