Go Down

Topic: Stepper motor help for automation mill (Read 3153 times) previous topic - next topic

jazzygerard

Hello everybody,

I have some questions regarding stepper motors, drives, programming etc...

I'm not new to the world of Arduino but i'm a total noob if it comes to stepper motors.

So what I want to do? As a hobbyist in motorcycle engineering I bought a small milling machine and
want to give it an automatic feed on the X-alignment (later on the y and z as well).

I'm not yet interested in any code (so far) but to give you an idea of what i want to achieve I will tell you guys what my program's suppose to do. Maybe it can be a help for you to answer my question.

So,
I have 1 pot meter to control the motors speed.
a push button to spin the motor to left as long as I push the button.   
a second push button to spin the motor right as long I push the button.
2 limit switches to stop the motor when i,m not paying any attention...

I already choose and bought a stepper motor a bipolar Nema23 with holding torque of 3.1Nm.
this is the data sheet: http://cnc4you.co.uk/resources/60BYGH301B.PDF

First of all I have a problem with reading this datasheet...
Let say i want to use it in parallel. Does it mean it use a current 4.2A and i have to supply 2.73V ? I don't know which supply voltage(s) I can take.

then, what is he difference between series and parallel? The torque stays the same with less current. sou wouldn't it be obvious to use it in series?

then the driver....
I read a lot about stepper motor drivers such as: dual H-bridge with LN298, easy driver, easy big driver, Arduino motor shield... I think the easy driver offers the best features for my application. but the problem is that it only can handle currents till 2A.
in fact I can't find any drive which can handle this currents... I can use the foreseen motor driver for this stepper but that would make things too easy, expensive and no input from myself. What you guys recommend keeping my aim in mind?