Go Down

Topic: 24VAC - 5VDC Power Supply Design (Read 5473 times) previous topic - next topic

DavidOConnor

I need a 24VAC to 5VDC power supply for my project. Load is 100-200 mA, 24VAC source is a 30VA xfmr. Attached is my design, I'm a newbie to circuit design so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

CrossRoads

Sooo old school.  7805 is gonna be really hot dropping 19V and more.
Get one of these instead:
http://www.pololu.com/category/131/step-down-voltage-regulators
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

DavidOConnor

Thanks CrossRoads. I have radio in my project, do I need to do anything special for filtering if I use a switching regulator? The voltage divider is suppose to give 9V to the 7805, do you think it will be higher? Can I lose the voltage divider if I use a switching regulator?

CrossRoads

Yes, ditch the voltage divider. That would only provide 9V at one current anyway, and would change as the current changed - effectively putting another resistor in parallel with 1K2.
Filtering - I don't know. Read the data sheet for the board you are interested in, see what switching frequency it uses.  Might need to put it in a grounded enclosure, and run shielded power cable to whereever the 5V goes.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

jackrae

Apr 24, 2014, 08:14 pm Last Edit: Apr 24, 2014, 08:16 pm by jackrae Reason: 1
You MUST lose the resistor divider, whatever type of regulator you use.
Assuming your load is 200mA and you are using a linear regulator.
Current into regulator equals at least 200mA.  This current must come via the 1k7 resistor and at 200mA the voltage drop across the resistor will be I x R = 0.2 x 1k7  = 340 volts !!!   I think not.