Go Down

Topic: use PString to avoid: crashes due to String, sprintf() or dtostrf() float issues (Read 2458 times) previous topic - next topic

Florin_Andrei

I've done my share of hardware design and software programming in the past, but I'm fairly new to Arduino and I'm still learning the do's and don'ts of this platform. Here's a few don'ts and a do I learned recently.

For a project, I had to continuously (well, once per second) print two float values on an LCD. The float values had to be formatted to fit the limited space on the LCD. Basically, I have 4 characters for each float, including the decimal point. Example of how the LCD may look at some moment:

mirror: 32.4 RPM
eccent: 1.73 RPM

Simple task, right? Well, not so fast...

My first thought was to use sprintf() to format the float values, because that's what any programmer would think of first. It turns out, sprintf() provided by the Arduino libs won't accept float values. That was both surprising and unpleasant. Okay, let's look for other solutions.

Some older posts on this forum suggested using the dtostrf() function as a sprintf() replacement for floats. That seemed to work well, except once in a while it would trigger a subtle bug that allowed "10.00" to be printed exactly as-is, instead of truncating it to "10.0". Moreover, if I tried to feed "10.00" intentionally into the function, the bug would not trigger. It would only appear in some random combination of factors that I was unable to reproduce. That's not really confidence-inducing, so I abandoned this idea too.

I thought to write my own formatting functions. But most of the sane ideas I had all used the String library, or some sort of string objects, and that caused all manner of mysterious crashes and corruption. Plus, writing your own basic routines is not always fun. So that didn't work either. Looking for other solutions...

...enter PString:

http://arduiniana.org/libraries/pstring/