Go Down

Topic: Motor for very slow rotation (Read 9788 times) previous topic - next topic

Sievers

Hi there

I am new to the world of Arduino and very excited about what I have learned so far. I am looking for a stepper/motor which can rotate very slowly. Essentially I would like to be able to vary the speed between e.g. one rotation a minute down to one rotation per day. My first thought was somewhere along the lines of combining gears of various size to slow things down a bit but I thought I'd just throw the question into the pit among more experienced users and see what came out of it.

Thanks in advance!  :)

Cheers

CrossRoads

You can create a pulse to make a stepper "step" whenever you'd like. If little discrete steps won't do it for you, then gearing would be the next step.
1/minute = 60/hr = 1440/day
Down to 1/day. Quite a range.

Hmm - did you intend one/period as one rotation at the end of a period (minute or hr or day), or a slow, continuous rotation?
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

Sievers

May 27, 2014, 10:36 pm Last Edit: May 27, 2014, 10:38 pm by Sievers Reason: 1
Sorry for being unclear :)
I meant slow continuous rotation.
The reason for the wide range is because I would like to make a camera mount for rotating timelapse videos and those require slow rotation, yet I also need to rotate it quickly around to a given location during each initiation. If a solution to the "goto angle X now" problem could be solved, the range could probably be narrowed to, say 1/hour-1/day. So in general a "slow" gear.

MarkT

Stepper motors have a fixed number of steps per resolution (200 commonly) which
may not be enough angular resolution for you.  Microstepping can help increase the
resolution but if you need a lot more then gearing or toothed belt reduction drive would help.