Go Down

Topic: 74hc4067 Multiplexer for multi-cell battery tester (Read 2228 times) previous topic - next topic

tbyers31

Jun 03, 2014, 02:29 am Last Edit: Jun 03, 2014, 02:32 am by tbyers31 Reason: 1
Hello,
I'm a newbie to Arduino and electronics.  I have an Arduino Uno with an Ethernet Shield and have managed to build a circuit on the breadboard which uses the 74hc4067 multiplexer to open a port and read an input from a temperature sensor.  It displays the temperature reading on the serial monitor.  In another sketch I figured out how to use the web to display this same information.  I only mention this to give you an idea of my skill level.  The math of Ohm's law makes sense to me but applying it to the design of my own circuits remains daunting.
So here's my goal.  I've built an electric bike.  It's being powered by up to 72 battery cells scavenged from old laptops.  From the reading on using these cells its important to match cells of equal capacity (measured in mAh).   This is a difficult task with used batteries.  The best way to do it is to charge a cell and discharge it, measuring the voltage drop over time to calculate the true capacity.  
To do this you can put a large resistor on the cell to draw the current and measure the voltage drop.  Track this over time and you have what you need.  Simple enough (easy for me to say) for a single cell.  But I have about 300 cells to test.  One cell at a time will take forever using this method.
So I'd like to build a multi-cell discharger using the 74hc4067 multiplexer to read 8 or 16 inputs at a time.  Conceivably I could connect two multiplexers to the same Arduino or build. multiple units to test the batteries in large batches.  Hopefully you see where I'm going.