Go Down

Topic: [Solved]Need Help Battery Source (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

jhaypee1683

Jun 17, 2014, 05:19 am Last Edit: Jun 23, 2014, 05:07 pm by jhaypee1683 Reason: 1
Hi all, im new in arduino and im making an obstacle avoiding robot. Here are the list of components that im using

• Arduino Uno

• 1 Servo

• 2 DC motor

• SRF04 (ultrasonic sensor)

• im also planning to add 2 IR sensor

and im having a problem with my power source. Im using 2 non rechargeable batteries and attach it on a 5v voltage regulator, the first 5v is for the arduino and the 2nd is for the other components. attach here is my schematic. i dont now how many battery  i need to make my other components work. or i have to change my circuit?
By the way the circuit is working if im using a 9v from a voltage adapter.
Thanks in advance.

dolinay

Standard 5 V voltage regulator will need about 7V at the input to work properly, so if you are using 1.5V batteries, you need to connect at least 5 in series. Using non rechargeable batteries will be expensive  and not very eco-friendly  :) You could use rechargeable Ni-MH batteries but you will need probably 7 of them in series as they have only 1.2 V. Or consider using low-drop voltage regulator.

fungus

Standard 5 V voltage regulator will need about 7V at the input to work properly, so if you are using 1.5V batteries, you need to connect at least 5 in series.

Nope. 1.5V batteries don't give 1.5V.

If you do it that way you need 6 batteries.
No, I don't answer questions sent in private messages (but I do accept thank-you notes...)

jhaypee1683

Thanks for the reply. Im just using a non rechargeable batteries for now because it only what i have, but im planning to buy rechargeable batteries. ive also read some articles that the i have to calculate the current that flows in order to make the motors and the servo work properly. can you give me advice on whats the ideal mA of the battery if i buy one? 

fungus