Tennis Ball Machine

As you can expect, I'm relatively new to the Arduino scene. I have a BSEE with a focus in small circuit design and programming in c,c++,c# was a hobby of mine growing up.

My goal is to learn about microcontrollers, motors, and parts assembly while being productive with my efforts at the same time. This wasn't difficult as my wife is starting to take Tennis lessons from me and a Tennis Ball Machine would combine all of the mentioned subjects. I'm drawing everything up in Autodesk Inventor and the wiring schematics will be done in CADSoft or Visio. I am not afraid to 3D print any enclosures or structure pieces if necessary.

Requirements:

• 2 spinning vertical wheel design
  • Tennis ball must travel up to 80mph from machine- I may use it for myself as well
  • Enclosure must oscillate 15 degrees left/right and up/down
  • Must be portable and run on rechargeable batteries
  • Light weight (max 40lbs) - She may want to bring it out herself.
  • Remote control of at least 80 ft - length of tennis court
  • Controller is its own part. I do not wish to have a phone or computer as the controller for these parts could change while a dedicated controller would not.
  • Any wireless communications method is permitted but nearby signals should not interfere with range/quality of signal
  • Motor must be of varying speeds to allow for top wheel RPM to differ from bottom and using the remote control, increase/decrease rpm's of top & bottom motors independently

I am not here for guidance on how to physically build the structure. Instead I'm here for the electronics controls portion and motor selection. Which parts to buy and how to implement.

Research: