Go Down

Topic: Elektret Micophone (Read 2461 times) previous topic - next topic

Ryukenden

Hey guys im having some difficulty reading values from an elektret micrpohone.

the code is use is simpel and shoudlnt be the problem;
Code: [Select]
/**
* AnalogReadSerial
* Reads an analog input pin 0 and prints the result to the serial monitor
* Click on the serial monitor button to open it.
*/

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  int sensorValue = analogRead(5);
  Serial.println(sensorValue, DEC);
  delay(500);
}

i used a schematic exactly like this one:http://www.instructables.com/id/Pre-amp-to-electret-mic/
However, i only get 0 as a value, and whenever i make a sound it doesnt go up or down.

I have plugged it onto 5 volts from the arduino itself.
Could it be that 100k resistor is the problem?

I am a total newbie so i just copied what i saw.

tmd3

Are you using the output coupling capacitor, called "C2" in the instructables schematic?  That capacitor is intended to block the DC component of the output signal.  The ADC needs to see that DC component, because it can't read voltages below zero.

Here's my suggestion for what to try next:

• Power the circuit from the Arduino's 5V supply.  Be sure to connect the circuit ground to the Arduino ground.

• remove C2 and connect the output of the transistor, "Q1," to the analog input.

• Try it again.

Ryukenden

Thanks you for the tip, i will try it out later today.
I will keep you posted on the results.

Ryukenden

i have removed the Capacitor as advised, but now i get big random readings.
they vary between 5 and 4685.

also i can not surely say that any noise has influence on the numbers i see.

luisilva

I think that your delay is very long too.
I think too, that you may need to add some DC signal to read something with the ADC of Arduino.

Ryukenden

Ive removed the Capacitor, and i shortend the delay to 50.
it is now wrinting values around 29-36 in the serial vieuw.