Go Down

Topic: Robot Submarine Project (Read 3906 times) previous topic - next topic

killer_whale

First of all, I am new in Arduino and i am not sure it is possible (or not).

The purpose of this project is making a robot submarine that is able to go 5 to 100 feet in the fresh/salt water. I have a strict budget of $500.

Since the submarine may have to swim in the current (low water flows and waves) it will have to stabilize itself. Thats why a compass won't be enough. There are two options at this point. First is using a weight / floater to make it stay parallel to the ground. And the second way is to use a gyro + accelerometer and motors to do this.

The submarine will need to dive and ascend yet this part is a little different than the real ones. It won't be filling the tubes with water and air to do so, instead, i will be balancing the density of the submarine as close as possible to the water and use motor power to sink and elevate it.

Since the water it will swim in can be turbid or salty, line of sight will be a problem. Camera + light may not be enough to see the environment. Therefore i will need to place ultrasound sensors that can detect objects from higher distances. The camera and lights will only be used for closer distances as 1 to 20 feet.

To avoid harmful depth pressures, i also need to place a pressure sensor. Pressure sensor will be only used for warning purpose, not an automation.

When i add up all these things, i get the following requirements;
- Need to control 5 dc motors (acting independent from each other)
- Accelerometer + Gyroscope + Compass (MinIMU-9 or similar) for navigation and stabilizing the robot
- Underwater sonars (one 290 kHz, 15° and one 90 kHz, 55°)
- Pressure sensor
- Camera (low res webcam etc. will do) and light (led spot lights)

I don't have any idea how to control the submarine with less motors.

Can anyone help?

dave-in-nj

is the question to use less than 5 motor ?