Go Down

Topic: Novice Questions (Read 5323 times) previous topic - next topic

RobRothman

I recently purchased an Arduino starter kit and have been playing around with it.  Although, in the distant past, I had done a little bit with (non-digital) electronics, I'm, basically a total beginner.  I have two basic questions:

1.  The trimpots which come with the kit do not fit very well into the breadboard -- so much so that I cannot get anything involving the use of the pots to run reliably.  I'm pretty confident that the problem is not in the way I hook things up, and I know that its not in the code (since the first thing I always try is to use the example code under the "starter kit" menu).  I can always buy regular pots and hook them up with jumper wires and alligator clips (or crocodile clips if you're in the UK), but this can get a little expensive for just playing around, and also seems contrary to the whole point of using a breadboard to try different things out easily.  Any suggestions for getting the supplied pots to make contact in the breadboard (or alternatively, for a source of inexpensive trimpots which will work better with the bredboard)?

2.  Looking ahead a bit to more permanent projects, I envision putting most external components on a piece of perfboard.  However, being an old-fashioned kind of guy, I would like to mount switches, LEDs, pots, etc. on the front panel of the enclosure rather than putting them on a board and just having them poke through the panel.  This means that I would need (I) wires going from the front panel components to the perfboard, and (ii) wires going from the perfboard to the Arduino board.