"Group-buy" for parts and components

Hi, this is Eric from Shenzhen, China. I'm an ex-electrical engineer currently working on internatioanl trading, and more importantly a fans of Arduino and Processing. I go to the electrical market at least once per week, now having an idea in hosting periodical "group-buys":

Shenzhen lies behind Hongkong, it is a capital of electrial industry. You may find that most of the electrical products are manufactured or assembled here. Here are the factors I have thought about:

Price: buy in bulks + close to manufacturers + small profit margin = remarkable cheaper than elsewhere.

Shipping cost: Small gadgets are very cheap in postal, the lowest parcel in my experience is 0.7USD.

Period: I need 1-7 days for transaction, and they will fly 7-15 days to yours.

Payment: I have Paypal account, and other methods are open for discussion.

Proposed proccess:

1. You let me know what you need, I quote you a price range.
  2. I combine the orders and fetch them from market, and send you the invoice.
  3. You may remove items according to the final price (I can return them or stock it, so don't worry)
  4. I ship the goods to you by Hongkong post or EMS.

The project and community grants me a lot of joy and inspriration, I hope to participate more in a complementing way like this. Also, it is a great practice to start off own biz.

Please kindly leave any of your opinions or comment, this is just a initial proposal open for discussion.

There should be an LED district there...I know you can get the Superflux-knockoff RGB LEDs for about 35 cents or less each. I was wondering how cheaply the Luxeon Star knockoffs would go. On eBay they still go for $13 or so for a 1W per channel RGB.

I might be able to act as the USA-side distribution hub. I already have a shipping operation set up, so you could combine packages to me and then I split it...or maybe, find one person in each metro area and people can just pick up their parts.