Go Down

Topic: Minimum setup adns 9500 aka trying to read the sensor block diagram (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Dungeon

Hi!

I want to get the ADNS 9500 (Datasheet) with the Arduino UNO to work. (via SPI)

Therefore I'm trying to figure a "minimum setup" out. For starters I just want to read the delta values and the motion pin.

Currently I have the following pins (numbers from adns datasheet) connected:

SPI: 3,4,5,6 --> SPI Pins on Arduino
Motion: 7 --> some digital input pin on Arduino
VDD5: 9 --> 5 Volt Supply
PWR_OPT: 10 --> Ground
Ground: 11 --> Ground
DGround: 14 --> Ground
VDDIO: 15 --> 3.3V

With this Setup I can flash the firmware and read the version/revision numbers, but the rest of the output remains garbage. I guess the missing pins are the problem.

Unfortunately I'm not really good at reading or interpreting the sensor block diagram. So I have a few questions:

1. Can I use a normal ground pin on Arduino as digital ground?

2. For the pins 1,2,8,16 I need a capacitor and a pMosfet. (top middle of the diagram). But there are some strange things for me:
a. Is the diode connecting the source and drain really necessary? And if, what is it for?
b. Is the resistor on the left necessary? And if, how do I know which one? The datasheet says nothing regarding this.
c. Are those 2 (diode like looking) things above Schottky-diodes? And if, what the hell? Two diodes serial in different directions should do nothing, or am I wrong?
Or do all those elements belong to the pMosfet and are (sort of integrated)? In this case I wouldn't need to worry about this.
d. When I search for NTA4151P I find a pMosfet with 3 pins. On the eye safety diagram it looks like I need 4 pins. On the other hand I read that, two of the 4 pins (bulk and source), are connected internal anyway. So I guess a 3 pin pMosfet is enough?