Go Down

Topic: Windaq to Arduino? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

DJDevon3

Oct 09, 2014, 10:04 am Last Edit: Oct 09, 2014, 10:09 am by DJDevon3 Reason: 1
I'm very new to Arduino and C and just wondering if anyone has ever played around with Windaq or WindaqXL data logging software to output waveforms to be displayed through an Arduino TFT?  Yes it outputs to a PC laptop but if possible I'd love to get it to display on an Arduino TFT instead (to be installed in a vehicle).  I think it would be a great project and this is what I want to do with my Arduino.  Anyone have any advice on interfacing Windows data logging software through the Arduino for visual display?

WindaqLite is a free version in case you want to play with it.  I'm currently waaay out of my league with this stuff.  Heck I don't even know if it's possible. Just wondering.
http://www.dataq.com/products/windaq/lite/

Robin2

If you can explain what it does without me needing to do any research I will try to help.

...R
Two or three hours spent thinking and reading documentation solves most programming problems.

Nick_Pyner

I have wondered about it myself, fleetingly, but haven't pursued it as I see Arduino as a Windaq substitute rather than a colleague.  My DI-194RS is powered by the serial cable. I guess you can power the module separately and feed the RS232 to Arduino just to test the flavour of the data. It is probably plain ASCII and can be fed to Arduino's graphic display like any other data. I think this is under or mis-using Arduino, as it can be better employed doing Windaq's job entirely, rather then being a mere graphic interface for it.

DJDevon3

Oct 09, 2014, 07:02 pm Last Edit: Oct 09, 2014, 07:04 pm by DJDevon3 Reason: 1