Syntax Question ()

I am new to Arduino and my first Uno is still in the mail, but I'm trying to watch every tutorial I can stomach, plus also reading a lot to at least hit the ground crawling.

I can see myself understanding most of this new language (code), but for the life of me, I cannot comprehend the use of () with no characters in between. Can someone please enlighten me? I've tried the reference page, Google search, forum search and I am likely just searching incorrect language. For the sake of this question, I will say that I comprehend (or will comprehend) why the parenthesis are used with characters in between, but why am I seeing them in many sketches with no characters therein?

TYIA

Give us an example of what you are talking about

I cannot comprehend the use of () with no characters in between.

Usually, it's calling a function that takes no parameters.

void foo (void)
{
  Serial.println ("Foo!");
}

//
//
//
   foo ();  // causes "Foo!" to be printed
}

If you're asking "Why not just "foo;" ? ", then the answer to that is, that there you're not calling the function "foo", you're just testing to see if the function exists (i.e. that the pointer to the function is not NULL, which it won't be, or else the compiler would've thrown a wobbly) and chucking away the result, which is pointless.

In C, the empty parens can mean different things.

As others have said, it sounds like you are referring to this syntax:

function_name()

C and C++ use the parentheses because it is not uncommon to actually pass a function itself as an argument. While this kind of syntax may be unusual in Arduino coding, it is quite common in applications.

For instance, when calling a the qsort function, one of the parameters is a second function, whose job is it to actually do the compare. In that case, one uses the function name without the parens:

qsort (my_array, 6, sizeof(int), comparetor_function );