Go Down

Topic: How would one do this project? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

FHUGO

Hello, I am new to all this and I thought this would be the best place to have my query answered. I would like to have two motors when one motor is turned a certain degree it sends this information over the internet to a replica motor and that motor does the same and vice versa. What would be required to do this?

Cheers

Peter_n

You could use a Wifi or a Ethernet Shield to let two Arduino boards communicate over internet.

How is the first motor turned ? Using an Arduino ? or with something else.
It is possible to attach a rotary encoder to the first motor ? What accuracy would you like for the degrees ?

You also need a motor driver (the hardware to make the motor run) between the Arduino board and the motor.

And you need to make the Arduino board visible on the internet, that means you have to open a port in the router.

FHUGO

Hi the first motor would be turned by hand like a dial and then the second motor would copy. then the second motor could be turned and the first will copy. Yes an encoder can be attached to each motor. It would need to be on standby when the motor has no signal to dive so that any manual rotation of the shaft is transmitted as a command to the other motor.

Robin2

Oct 27, 2014, 09:04 am Last Edit: Oct 27, 2014, 09:07 am by Robin2
This is not going to be a simple project. I suggest you think, first, about using the two motors the way you describe both connected to the same Arduino board. (I will mention the communication between Arduinos in a moment).