Go Down

Topic: Speed of Data logging to PC, buffering, timing and jitter (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

mischki

Hi,
Absolute beginner at hardware programming here.
After several days of searching for answers online I still have a couple of basic questions :

a) I understand that when logging acquired data (analog or digital read) to a PC from an Arduino, two factors (at least) come into play - 1) sampling speed 2) transfer speed. The sampling is quite sufficient for my application (I need to sample something at around 20 kHz).
The transfer speeds (stemming from inherent Serial sluggishness?) however reduce the total rate to about 1.7 kHz.
I have tried buffering, and transferring the buffer (e.g. of about 1000 samples). This results in extremely frequent samples (I have seen speeds around 200 kHz on my Due) within the buffer itself but rather hefty gaps between the buffers. I guess this makes sense since the larger the buffer, the more time to transfer it. Such a scheme is suboptimal, since the data with such gaps is not very useful. So here is the thing which I'm trying to understand on a fundamental level -  I've heard of double-buffering, where one buffer is sampled, and another transferred. Unless I misunderstood the context of double-buffering, it only makes sense if the two actions can be performed simultaneously - so here is the question - can Arduino (or other ADC boards) sample and transfer at the same time, or is the CPU busy transferring and cannot therefore sample until the transfer is done? If so, what is the advantage of double buffering.