Go Down

Topic: LED sequencing (Read 2557 times) previous topic - next topic

Lingy13

Hi all,

I want to create a circuit that is able to store multiple profiles of different LED sequences/configurations. As I'm completely new to this (Recommended to this by a technician at university), I've no idea what components I'd need to be able to create a circuit that can do this. The LEDs i've been supplied with will be powered by a 12V battery.

Also I've minimal coding skills, so anywhere I can try and learn for myself how to code the LED sequences and profiles?

Thanks,

Riva

You will find loads of similar projects on here if the search option is working and people will willingly give you ideas and help if you describe the problems/needs and supply the relevant information. So questions that first come to mind are...
Do you have a datasheet for your LED's.

How many LED's are we talking about for the sequence.

How do you switch profiles and do they switch instantly or at end of sequence.
Don't PM me for help as I will ignore it.

Lingy13

Thanks for your reply.

It doesn't need to be anything complicated since I just need a prototype for an experiment. It's a test to see whether certain lighting effects can make a motorbike more easily detected, thus decreasing chance of an accident.

As I don't know what you mean by a datasheet for my LEDs, I probably dont have that.

I have 16 LEDs to play with at the moment, but will be paired up to help raise the intensity. The LEDs are supplied  by RS Components, the automotive 12V festoon lamp and holder.

I was initially thinking of just using a switch that goes: On -> Setting 1 -> Setting 2 -> Setting 3 -> Off ->
It would not be a problem for the profiles to switch instantly or at the end of the sequence. I would probably opt for the simplest code to save time.

PaulRB

Nov 19, 2014, 12:50 am Last Edit: Nov 19, 2014, 12:52 am by PaulRB