Go Down

Topic: Safely connecting a relay board to external power supply  (Read 11722 times) previous topic - next topic

Giddyup

Hi folks,

New here and I've spent the night researching pages and pages of this topic to help with me project, but I haven't found a straight answer...at least for my limited cranial skills.

I'm basically a noob when it comes to electronics, so don't assume I know anything. I'm looking for some help to safely connect up some hardware I recently purchased.

Project Context: we have some custom hardware, harnesses designed for a 4 lane slot car track. I've wired 4 tracks before with a basic power relay to cut all track power, but this project is much more advanced.

Project Details: We have a harness coming off our Arduino board that needs to be connected specifically to a 4 relay board (in the attached picture). The relay board will be controlled by an Arduino board via a race management software (RMS) system on our computer that will cut (individual lane) power to the track when a car runs out out of "fuel". Side note for more context, a full fuel tank is set to a certain number of laps - or less, if lap times are below a certain user defined threshold.

FYI - I have picture attached of what I'm going to outline - it does contains an error, on the terminal side where it says "closed", it should state "common".

We are using an Arduino board which is connected to (and powered by) our computer via USB cable. The Arduino board has 4 pairs of pigtails already connected to it, that correspond to certain lane numbers. We've tested each pigtail with a multi-meter noting that it puts out a 5v charge when the RMS triggers it (i.e., a signal to cut power). So that appears to address powering the relay board.

We have been instructed to connect each pigtail into IN1 (for lane 1), IN2 (for lane 2) and so forth. With the associated ground for each pigtail to be connected to the GND.