Go Down

Topic: Multiple relays using DIP switches (Read 3501 times) previous topic - next topic

adrumsolo4u

I have a plan which requires me to chain in parallel multiple relays. I need to have a method of addressing a specific relay. My plan is to use DIP switches and resistors to assign each relay an address.

I'm very new to arduino, but I have a good ammount of knowledge in  electronics.

Originally i thought to use PWM to address the relays but I realized that a simpler solution might be to use DIPs and resistors to much more simply assign each relays its' own address.

Does anyone have any experience in this or have any ideas of a better direction to go?

larryd

No technical PMs.
If you are asked a question, please respond with an answer.
If you are asked for more information, please supply it.
If you need clarification, ask for help.

Grumpy_Mike

Using PWM to address a relay just does not make any sense at all. It is something that can't be done, like addressing a letter by using a pie.

Just like the word chaining and parallel mean opposite things.

So your words at the moment do not make any sense, so if you want help you will have to say what you want in a better way.

Paul__B

It makes vaguely more sense (but not much) if you read his other post.

adrumsolo4u

Using PWM to address a relay just does not make any sense at all. It is something that can't be done, like addressing a letter by using a pie.

Just like the word chaining and parallel mean opposite things.

So your words at the moment do not make any sense, so if you want help you will have to say what you want in a better way.
originally i planned to have each relay with its' own arduino unit to receive the pwm signal from the master arduino. however i realized that there might be a much simpler and less expensive method to control relays along a bus, similar to a 1553 data bus.

each relay will have it's own transformer and rectifier for 5v power.