Go Down

Topic: Beginner questions (Read 3266 times) previous topic - next topic

cgc98

Hey guys!  I'm VERY new to electronics and wanted to ask you guys a few questions (Not sure If general Electronics is the best section to do this.)

1.  Is MAKE: Electronics a book you would recommend buying?  Are there any other beginner friendly books/online tutorials I should consider buying?

2.  Where is the best/cheapest place to get electronic components (Radioshack? Digikey? SparkFun?)

Thanks!

Grumpy_Mike

2.  Where is the best/cheapest place to get electronic components (Radioshack? Digikey? SparkFun?)
In general Radioshack is poor for the scope of parts it offers and what it does offer are very expensive.

Digikey are a major distributor with top quality stuff, other distributors are Mouser and Farnell / Newark. These are professional outfits.

SparkFun are good for more hobby type things like breakout boards as are Adafruit.

DrBobLoblaw

eBay can be a good source of beginners kits that contain an assortment of parts useful for Arduino projects. You might wind up paying 10x the price, but when the parts are $.01/ea when bought in bulk from a large supplier like Mouser, the final cost isn't that much. If Radioshack has the part and you happen to be near a store, it can be worth the extra cost to get the part now and save the shipping cost.

A parts cabinet with a bunch of drawers to store your parts in an organized way is a requirement. Once you've accumulated a handful of components, it's the needle in a haystack problem trying to find the one you need if they are all in one pile.

The "Encyclopedia of Electronic Components" by Charles Platt and published by Make is a good reference to have on the shelf.

Grumpy_Mike