Go Down

Topic: Hydroponic pH and conductivity sensors (Read 7149 times) previous topic - next topic

hydrokev

I have been running a fully automated hydroponic garden for several years. I would like to expand my garden and would like some input on my conductivity sensors.

I have tried multiple circuits and have had problems with the sensor going out of calibration too fast. I have come up with a new circuit I will test shortly.

The frequency needs to be 1khz+ to prevent polarization of the ions, and build up on one electrode on the probe.

The pH probe is much simpler and I will post schematics shortly.

The circuit is as follows:

C1 ______________     
         |                |
         |                |
        1nf              |
                       Probe
C2____|               |
                          |
                          |
EC _____________|

So if the ascii art doesn't look right, a capacitor is connected between pins C1 and C2, and the probe is connected between C1 and EC.

The pseudo code is as follows:

1) C1 = high, C2 = low, EC = input
   cap is charged to VCC
2) C1 = input
3) EC = low
   start discharge
4) Time until C1 = low

5) C1 = low, C2 = high, EC = input
   cap is charged in reverse
6) C1 = input
7) EC = high
   start discharge
8) Time until C1 = high

9) Repeat and average

Here is the function I've put together so far, if anyone can cut down number of clock cycles on the pin changes that would be appreciated.

C1 = pin 7
C2 = pin 6
EC = pin 5

double GetTDS()
{
  int samples = 16;

int T1 = 0;
  int T2 = 0;

long count = 0;

for (int i=0;i++;i<samples) {

// c1 high, c2 low, ec input
  // charge cap 
  bitClear(DDRD,5); // ec input
  bitClear(PORTD,5); // disable pullup
  bitSet(PORTD,7); // c1 high
  bitClear(PORTD,6); // c2 low
  bitSet(DDRD,7); // c1 output
  bitSet(DDRD,6); // c2 output

// wait for charge ?

// c1 input, c2 low, ec input
  // set C1 to input
  bitClear(DDRD,7); // set c1 to input