Go Down

Topic: Having a problem uploading to a Arduino (clone) Mega 2560 board. (Read 5663 times) previous topic - next topic

Don_kd6hq

Hello, I'm new to this so please bear with me.

I'm having a problem uploading to the Arduino Mega2560 (clone) board that I purchased.
This is the link http://www.ebay.com/itm/231183966414?_trksid=p2060778.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

OS is Windows 7 - 64 bits.
The installed driver seems to be ok; it shows up as "Arduino Mega 2569 (COM8)" in the device manager.  In Arduino 1.6.0 software tools/board it shows up as "Arduino Mega or Mega 2560" on COM8.  So it appears to be installed correctly. 
When power up (USB) both the Green power and "L" leds are on.  If I push the reset button the "L" led flashes.

When I try and upload a sketch, it fails with a time out error.
"avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer"

From the description of the board, it appears to have a boot loader installed.

But I was wondering what would happen if I clicked on "Burn Boot loader" in Arduino 1.6.0.  Would it try to install the boot loader for the mega 2560?

It uses the ATMEGA2560 16AU 1420 and MEGA 16U2 1426 chips.

2. Iduino Mega 2560 Board
Iduino Mega is an ATmega2560 as core microcontroller development board itself has 54 groups digital I / O input / output terminal (14 groups do PWM outputs), 16 sets of simulation than the input side, group 4 UARTs (hardware serial ports), using the 16 MHz crystal oscillator.  With the boot loader, download the program directly via USB without having to go through other external writer. Supply part of the optional USB power, or as an external power using the AC-to-DC adapter and battery. Arduino development IDE interface is based on open-source principles, allows you to free download for use in project work, school teaching, motor control, interactive works.

Thank you

Peter_n