Go Down

Topic: 2 digit seven segment LED display  (Read 3433 times) previous topic - next topic

sevla747

I am currently in the planning stage of a project that includes a 2 digit seven segment LED display. I am interested in either using standard incandescent bulbs or LED's to form the display. I prefer to use incandescent to keep my project as close to authentic as possible but I can use LED's. I've recently purchased an Arduino Mega and (2) 8 channel SSR boards to use in the project. I planned on using one relay per segment. My idea is to have the LED's or incandescent bulbs randomly display pre-programmed numbers.

I've never worked with an Arduino before so I have no knowledge of connection and programming. I would greatly appreciate all the input and assistance I can get in putting this project together.

Pedro147

Before a mod tells you, if I were you I would delete two of the three cross posts you have put up and just leave this one  8)
http://www.pedroduino.com

PaulRB

Hi,

standard incandescent bulbs
Tell about these bulbs. What voltage and current do they need?

Paul

Paul__B

Before a mod tells you, if I were you I would delete two of the three cross posts you have put up and just leave this one.
You forget - he cannot delete original posts.  Apparently the mod did then.

Pedro147

http://www.pedroduino.com

sevla747

Here is a picture of what I'm trying to replicate. I'm scaling this scoreboard down to 80"X32" so I'd like the 2 digit display to be approx 8"x6". I could either use indicator bulbs or warm white LED's. I'm uncertain of bulb types and voltages that would work here. Would I have to run separate bulb strings for each segment or could I light each bulb independently? Of course being able to control them independently would make this more authentic in operation and may require more relays. Either or I believe this would require an outside power source independent of the MEGA.