Go Down

Topic: Cat pee.  (Read 4023 times) previous topic - next topic

Paul_KD7HB

My bets are on the capacitors being rated for 85C

The pushbutton isn't waterproof but it can be dried out. If you are worried, you can unsolder it while washing
Nope. We run boards with capacitors identical to the Arduino capacitors right through the convection oven and solder the whole board on one pass. Using lead-free solder.

Paul

mcnobby

I used to work in the Marine Electronics industry and was told that PCBs (and some components) will soak up water. I observed this during many years of humidity testing.

Is cleaning a PCB with water a good idea then ? and surely not boiling

CrossRoads

I don't believe fiberglass, which is used in most current PCBs, can soak up water.
The cleaning methods discussed do not involve long term submersion.
Best method would be brushing down with 99.9% (anhydrous) alcohol. That's how I clean all the boards we hand solder (Mega screw shields mostly).  Reflow soldered boards use no-clean solder paste and receive no additional cleaning.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

smeezekitty

Brei
I used to work in the Marine Electronics industry and was told that PCBs (and some components) will soak up water. I observed this during many years of humidity testing.

Is cleaning a PCB with water a good idea then ? and surely not boiling
I don't think water would be absorbed with brief contact with water. Maybe after extended exposure
but cleaning with water should be safe.
Avoid throwing electronics out as you or someone else might need them for parts or use.
Solid state rectifiers are the only REAL rectifiers.
Resistors for LEDS!

cadmiumeye