Go Down

Topic: Modify Arduino IDE auto save behavior? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Qdeathstar

The new IDE has a good feature that automatically saves your project when you press the upload button.

The problem is, that it seems to automatically save using the same file name, so if you make changes, then  upload to see the improvement, you loose the original before you made the change... And if you make changes that don't solve the problem, i'd like to be able to go back to the original?

Is there a way to do that?
A creaking creeping shadow
stiff against the freezing fog
glares at a tickless watch.

Time has failed him -- all things shall pass.

olf2012

Just disable the feature in the IDE settings  :)
You can then make changes, upload and test, then save manually if you are satisfied with the result

federicofissore

Qdeathstar are you using an external editor?

Wharto

Under File / Preferences / Setting - Uncheck 'save when verifying or uploading'.

DrAzzy

You could also obsessively use git or other source control tool, and make a commit for every version of the software that you're happy with. This would also keep a record of the changes, which might be good. But it would also be tempting to forget to use it.
ATTinyCore for x4/x5/x61/x7/x8/x41/1634/828/x313 megaTinyCore for the megaavr ATtinies - Board Manager:
http://drazzy.com/package_drazzy.com_index.json
ATtiny breakouts, mosfets, awesome prototyping board in my store http://tindie.com/stores/DrAzzy

Go Up