How to turn stepper motor at rpm precisely?

I'm a Arduino noob, but I'm trying to make a barn door tracker for astrophotography. I need the stepper to revolve at 1 RPM exactly. I'm using an Uno with the EasyStepper and my motor is a 10V 200 step bipolar stepper 1.8 degrees a step. Pin 8 is Dir and Pin 9 is Step and GND is GND on the Arduino-Easy Driver respectively.

I tried using the directions on the Stepper - Arduino Reference
but they don't seem to work and I'm not sure if that is because I'm using the EasyDriver. I wasn't able to get them to work with or without the motor driver board.

I've been looking on the forums but I haven't seen anyone trying to get a precise low RPM. Can anyone point me to a good post?

I'm really confused about which library to use. I don't need to accelerate, so the AccelStepper seems overkill.

Below is something I based on Tom Igoe's stepper blog. I wish it was this easy, but this moves the motor much slower than 1 RPM.

#include <Stepper.h>

const int stepsPerRevolution = 200;  // change this to fit the number of steps per revolution
// for your motor

// initialize the stepper library on pins 8 and 9:
Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 8, 9);

void setup() {
  myStepper.setSpeed(1);
}

void loop() {

// step 200/60 of a revolution:
    myStepper.step(3.3333);

}

Thanks.

Try this simple stepper test code that does not use any library. You can adjust the "gap" between steps to give any speed you want.

...R
Stepper motor basics

The easydriver defaults to 8 microsteps, so 8 x 200 = 1600 steps per revolution
Try 1600 in your code, might be more what you were expecting.

The AccelStepper library is work downloading and checking out.

I am working on a RA driver for a telescope, which is basically the same thing you are doing.

Do not use the stepper libraries, they are more catered for precise position, not precise speed.

Just set up a togged output and change the timing for your needs.