Go Down

Topic: Power boards for NEMA23 Step Motors (Read 878 times) previous topic - next topic

smoore

I have an old robot I built about 10 years ago using a TinyTiger microcontroller, two NEMA23 4-wire stepper motors (1.8 degree), and a pair of stepper motor drivers (CyberPak CY-41).

I want to rebuild the robot for an extra challenge for the local middle school's robotics club, using an up-to-date Arduino system. This puts the Arduino system in the hands of the next generation of up-and-coming engineers. I'd rather introduce them to a modern system (Arduino) instead of a deprecated system (TinyTiger).

This will be my first experience with Arduino - I know very little about it. I am a professional embedded programmer, but I work with 32-bit ARM stuff in eclipse-based IDE (i.e. Freescale K20 and CodeWarrior with the real-time MQX operating system) or 8-bit PIC controllers.

What are some recommendations?

1. Which Arduino platform (i.e. Arduino Leonardo)?
2. Keep my existing CY-41 stepper amplifiers?
3. Upgrade to two Motor Shields to maximize compatibility and system integration?
4. Are there alternative stepper motor driver boards specifically designed for the Arduino that have code samples available?

How many Shields can be stacked? Can I stack two Motor Shields on a single Arduino card?

Thanks.

MarkT

Don't whatever you do downgrade to Motor Shields, these are high current bipolar stepper motors!

You might want to upgrade to microstepping drives, but these are expensive - you have
a working system already?  Just use the AccelStepper library to generate step/direction
interface.

Arduino platform depends on what you want to do - how many I/O?  How much
processor power?  Start with Uno or similar if unsure, it should all just work out
of the box, very straightforward.
[ I will NOT respond to personal messages, I WILL delete them, use the forum please ]

Robin2