Go Down

Topic: newbie question about steppers (Read 774 times) previous topic - next topic

eloid

Hello , im very new to arduino anardiniorograming them.  I would like explore small automation stepper experiment with a arduino with my cnc back ground hobby.
i like to get some advice for hardware before buy any hardware.

Brief description of the project. I would Like to build a two axis router table which would have a motorized lift and motorized fence.

The objective/ parameters for the lift would use 300oz /in stepper (5amp)  with ballscrew linear guide rails with upper and lower limits switch . The  lift needs to home itself , calibrate itself to home location, park itself to know height for tool changes. I need the ability to use a touch plate for offset heights and away to increment  tool passes  to final depth , and store these configuration in memory. I would be using a gecko stepper driver controller to drive the stepper. I wold like to use a touch screen LCD  4-5 inch scree n . The second axis would  simular and have a resolutio of 1 thousand of inch accuracy also with same homing and calibration requiments

So my frist question is... which arduino would suit my needs

eloid

Would i need a stepper sheild or can i interface directly into the gecko driver board?  I would prefer  not use a shield.  Would a arduino mega  have enough analog inputs for 4 limit switch and a touch plate and a large touch screen with digital scale( igage) on both axis

ShadowGaming

So my frist question is... which arduino would suit my needs
I'd say any Arduino, even an uno.

you would just need a shield that could control 2 servos via the ICSP headers.

Ive seen many shields that can do this.

also, try a bunch of smaller projects before delving into such a large project.
-Robot builder
Current project: W.A.R.P

Walk Alike Robotic Project

eloid

Technically the project is not diffecult. . Just learn curve for arduino programing and hardware

Isaac96