Go Down

Topic: how to connect water pump to arduino? (Read 8484 times) previous topic - next topic

shayari

i'm new to the concept of arduino.Kindly help me on"how to connect water pump to arduino" and if possible, provide me with some link.

Thanks in advance!

MorganS

Do you have a specific pump you want to connect? Why not tell us? Does it have any specifications like voltage or current? We need to know that to be able to recommend a solution.

This is a good place to start if your pump is small (less than 1.2 amps and 12 volts) http://www.adafruit.com/products/1438
"The problem is in the code you didn't post."

shayari

I hv got two options..one has a voltage rating of 8-12 v which is of submersible type and another one has voltage rating of 12 v and is non submersible one..so plz help me with the choice !! And i hv gt one more question..how would i be able to provide the voltage supply..if i connect the pump to one of the digital pins on the arduino.??

Thanks in advance!!

jremington

Aug 06, 2015, 06:18 pm Last Edit: Aug 06, 2015, 06:19 pm by jremington
how would i be able to provide the voltage supply..if i connect the pump to one of the digital pins on the arduino.??
No. You must have a separate power supply that outputs the required voltage, and can supply more than enough current for the pump. You also need a motor controller or relay.

Google "arduino motor control" for lots of ideas on how to control the pump.

shayari

can i use a transistor??..what i basically aim is to build a automated drip irrigation system,where the moisture reading of the soil would be taken at the interval of 5secs and if the moisture level is below the threshold value, then the pump would get into action and the drip irrigation action would be initiated.I have already made my own moisture sensor and i need ur help to control the motor.

thank u for ur help!!

jremington

Aug 06, 2015, 09:26 pm Last Edit: Aug 06, 2015, 09:26 pm by jremington
can i use a transistor??