Go Down

Topic: Sony ILX554B for spectrometer (Read 6125 times) previous topic - next topic

schmaffz

Hello,
I want to use the Sony ILX554B ccd to build a spectrometer. Till now I have the ardunio software, a program called LogView Studio for drawing the information the ccd collects and an Arduino Mega 2560 for controlling the ccd. As alternative I could also use Labview for drawing.
This is my first project, so I have no experience in this matter. Unfortunatelly my C skills are very rusty, but I think I should find my way into it. By what I have read so far, I learned, that every pixel has to be read out one by one, am I right?
Another problem is the function of this ccd. I couldn't find a manual whether and when to set the ROG or CLK high or low to scan the light/read out the information.

I hope someone has some experience in this topic and can help me.
Thanks in advance.

Riva

By what I have read so far, I learned, that every pixel has to be read out one by one, am I right?
Yes.
Another problem is the function of this ccd. I couldn't find a manual whether and when to set the ROG or CLK high or low to scan the light/read out the information.
First link from a google search for ILX554B is here.
ROG is normally high and you pulse it low (when CLK is high) for a minimum of 1000ns to start the CCD sample readout.

I hope someone has some experience in this topic and can help me.
I have not used the ILX554B but it looks similar to the ILX511 I have played with.
Don't PM me for help as I will ignore it.

schmaffz

Thank you.
I have another question: Do ich need the S/H-mode (sample and hold)?
Im not sure whats it's for and whether I need it or not.

Riva

I have another question: Do ich need the S/H-mode (sample and hold)?
Im not sure whats it's for and whether I need it or not.
From you first post I assumed you already collect data from this CCD using a similar setup.