Go Down

Topic: Amplifying a 100 mv signal from a pressure transducer to 0-5V or 0-10V (Read 6049 times) previous topic - next topic

alitarraf

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in arduino, and electronics in general.

I need to amplify a 100mv signal to 0-5V or 0-10V that I can read with my arduino.

I have come across a previous post addressing the same issue here:

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=205229.0

But I am not quite sure about which op amp to use, an instrumentation amplifier, or an operational amplifier?

I attached the datasheet of the sensor.

Thank you
Ali T.

mart256

I need to amplify a 100mv signal to 0-5V or 0-10V that I can read with my arduino.

Arduino analog ports read 0-5V, so I would dismiss 0-10V.

alitarraf

Thanks for pointing that out.

I am open to any suggestions, even if it is to buy an off the shelf unit that will do the job.

My main concern is to minimize noise issues, and have a reasonable degree of accuracy.

Ali T.

Magician

alitarraf

I would like to have a minimum of 0.5-1Khz. I would like to use this sensor for static pressure measurement.
I am using other dynamic pressure sensors with Labview and specialized DAQ that can go up to 500Khz.

But if we can design the circuitry to be able to do 50Khz or 100Khz, that would be also great to have.

Thanks for asking.
Ali T.

Magician

Than INA125 is a way to go. Google data sheet.
 For lower sampl. rate I thought you may use HX711.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/For-Arduino-Dual-channel-HX711-Weighing-Pressure-Sensor-24-bit-Precision-A-D-Module/32296409056.html?spm=2114.031010208.3.2.xXrvBw&ws_ab_test=201556_6,201527_3_71_72_73_74_75,0_0

Wawa

I think the HX711 is unsuitable because of the lower supply voltage (<5volt).

The sensor is rated for 10volt, so the INA125 with it's 10volt reference would be a good match.
Supply the INA with 12volt regulated, IAref to ground, and a 1:1 voltage divider on the output.
Leo..

Magician