Amplifying audio signal to be used in frequency analyzer

Okay so I'm working on a simple Arduino frequency analyser like many others before me, but I'm new to this type of tinkering so I'm pretty clueless. I know a lot of people use the MSGEQ7, but I'm in Europe and can't get that shipped in time for the deadline for my project (cant find any Europe retailers, if you know one that would be very helpful).

So I'm trying to read a 3,5mm audio jack, process the signal with FFT and then output it onto an 8x8 LED matrix. But I don't know how to amplify the signal to get it between 0 and 5V.

Could I use an LM386 (http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm386.pdf) to amplify the signal before feeding it into my Arduino? Are there are other components that could be of help that I can get shipped to Europe fairly quickly? Are there any other workarounds I could use? It doesn't need to be super accurate, I just want a rough representation of the sound on my LED:s.

The whole concept of amplifying a voltage that varies between positive and negative really confuses me, so I don't really understand how to get it into the 0-5V range.

Thanks in advance!

You need to use an Op Amp (Operational Amplifier) like the LM386. There are many types depending on the application, and usually only need a few other components like resistors and capacitors. The amplification multiple is usually set by resistor ratios. I am not an expert, so I usually look for circuits online or from the data sheets for the device and build those.

How much amplification do you need? What's the voltage before amplification, or what's the source? If you have a line-level source (around 1V from a CD/DVD player, or a headphone output, etc.) you can use that without amplification. If you're using a microphone you'll need an amplifier with a gain of around 100 (depending on the sensitivity of the mic and how loud the sound is).

Since you're under a time-crunch, it might be best to buy an audio preamp.