Go Down

Topic: Connecting 5V VCC to an Arduino Pro Mini (or to any Arduino) (Read 6639 times) previous topic - next topic

lkz7786

Hello, First time posting here and I am brand new to Arduinos!

I have a 5V Arduino Pro Mini and I see on the schematic that I can either supply a VIN to the regulator which will output 5V VCC to the board, or I can provide a regulated 5V VCC directly into the board. 

My question is, does it hurt the voltage regulator to connect an external VCC voltage to it when it is not powered at its input pin? In my limited electronics experience it seems that it would be bad to connect a voltage to an IC's output pin.  Does current flow into the regulator, and if so how much current?  Would it be better to disconnect the regulator if I never plan to use it?

Thanks for any help.  Many more questions to come...

Wawa

From the Products page here: The Arduino Pro Mini can be powered with an FTDI cable or breakout board connected to its six pin header...

5volt USB power connect directly to VCC this way.

The Pro-Mini pdf shows a solder jumper to remove regulator and onboard LED for battery powering.
https://www.arduino.cc/en/uploads/Main/Arduino-Pro-Mini-schematic.pdf
Leo..

OldSteve

That covers the Mini, I guess, but in the case of the UNO, it is recommended to not supply 5V power via the 5V pins because it can damage the board. I read that here, about half-way down the page:-
Arduino UNO & Genuino UNO

But looking at the schematic for an Arduino, that's exactly what powering the board from USB does, as mentioned by Wawa above. That's providing there is definitely no external supply connected to Vin, since it does bypass the isolating MOSFET.
In either case, the 5V is still applied to the output pin of the 5V regulator.