Go Down

Topic: Arduino Motor Shield R3: Problems driving both DC motors simultaneously (Read 4753 times) previous topic - next topic

KenyanX

I'm extremely new to this and this is my first post, so please forgive me if I'm doing something really stupid.

I have an Arduino Uno 3 connected to the Arduino Revision 3 Motor Shield.

Here is the issue.

I can drive motor A or Motor B, but not both at the same time.

Here is my code:

Code: [Select]

/*
Motor Test Drive
*/

//Motor A Config
const int
 PWM_A = 3,
 DIR_A = 12,
 BRAKE_A = 9;

//Motor A Config
const int
 PWM_B = 11,
 DIR_B = 13,
 BRAKE_B = 8;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(PWM_A, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(BRAKE_A, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(DIR_A, OUTPUT);       //Correction to Code based on OldSteve's Comments
  pinMode(PWM_B, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(BRAKE_B, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(DIR_B, OUTPUT);        //Correction to Code based on OldSteve's Comments

Serial.begin(9600);
 while (! Serial);
 Serial.println("Speed 0 to 255");
}

void loop()
{
 digitalWrite(BRAKE_A, LOW);  // setting brake LOW disable motor brake
 digitalWrite(DIR_A, HIGH);   // setting direction to HIGH the motor will spin forward
 digitalWrite(BRAKE_B, LOW);  // setting brake LOW disable motor brake
 digitalWrite(DIR_B, HIGH);   // setting direction to HIGH the motor will spin forward

if (Serial.available())
 {
   int speed = Serial.parseInt();
   if (speed >= 0 && speed <= 255)
   {
     analogWrite(PWM_A, speed);
     analogWrite(PWM_B, speed);
   }
 }
}

If I leave the analog writes to the PWM as is - Motor A drives fine, but B does nothing.
If I comment out B, A drives fine (As expected)
If I comment out A, B drives will work

I thought maybe it was a timing thing so I put a delay in between the the two writes and only only A worked, but if I change the speed back to 0 A stops, then B starts for a few second and then stops.

Any ideas on why I can't get them both to run at the same time?

DuaneDegn

Can you take a picture of your wiring?